Make your own free website on
The National Anthem of India

T he opening stanza of the song Jana gana mana, by the poet Rabindranath Tagore, was adopted as the National Anthem of India in January 1950. It was first sung in December 1911 at the Calcutta session of the Indian National Congress. The Anthem was translated into English in 1911 by Tagore.


Jana-gana-mana-adhinayaka, jaya he
Tava subha name jage,
Tava subha asisa mage,
Gahe tava jaya-gatha.
Jana-gana-mangala-dayaka, jaya he
Jaya he, jaya he, jaya he,
Jaya jaya jaya, jaya he.

The following is Tagore's English rendering of the stanza:

Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people,
Thou dispenser of India's destiny.
Thy name rouses the hearts of the Punjab, Sind,
Gujarat and Maratha, of Dravid, Orissa and Bengal.
It echoes in the hills of the Vindhyas and Himalayas,
mingles in the music of the Jamuna and Ganges
and is chanted by the waves of the Indian Sea.
They pray for thy blessings and sing thy praise.
The saving of all people waits in thy hand,
Thou dispenser of India's destiny.
Victory, Victory, Victory, Victory to thee.

home comments

history song map flag emblem more

Last Modified: 1 May 1998
The background, buttons and accessories appearing on this page are copyright material.
Copyright © 1997 JoPreetha Creations. All Rights Reserved.